Unofficial Election Results from Election Office

11:00 pm: The  last remaining districts have sent in their election results and the Election Office has tabulated the numbers for all of today’s voting.

These results from the Election Office are unofficial.

For the gubernatorial race, Lolo Matalasi Moliga and Lemanu Palepoi Sialega Peleti Mauga have won with 7,235 votes or 60.2% of ballots cast.

Challengers Faoa Aitofele Sunia and Larry Sanitoa received 4,305 votes 0r 35.8% while the team of Tuika Tuika and Salanoa Iuni Maeva obtained 484 votes or 4.0%.

In the congressional race, Aumua Amata Radewagen won by an overwhelming margin, garnering 8,923 votes or 75.4%, Vaitinasa Salu Hunkin-Finau received 1,581 votes or 13.4%, Paepaetele Mapu Jamias polled 978 or 8.3%, Meleagi Suitonu Chapman got 181 votes or 1.5% and Timothy Jones polled 171 votes or 1.4%.

For the House of Representatives elections there are at least six new faipule entering the Fono next year.

Kitara Vaiau defeated incumbent Talaimatai Elisara Sua in Saole.

Vailiuama Steve Leasiolagi is ahead by one point over incumbent Maugaoalii Le’apai Sipa Anoa’i, Sataua Dr. Mataese Samuelu will enter the House with current faipule Manumaua Wayne Wilson after defeating the second incumbent for Ituau, Vaiaitu Mulinuu Filo Maluia.

A new representative has been elected in Leone.  Fagaoatua Dorian Salave’a has defeated incumbent Puletu Koko.

There’s also a new representative for Tuala-uta. The youngest candidate Samuel Ioka Ale Meleisea topped the field, and will be joining incumbent, Vui Florence Saulo.

A new representative was elected in Leasina.  Incumbent Atalina Asifoa was defeated by Gafatasi Afalava.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,